Public Safety

The Norwalk Fire Department  covers Northwestern Warren County, Southwestern Polk County, and Northeastern Madison County Iowa, including the towns of Norwalk, Spring Hill, and Cumming. We operate a paramedic level emergency medical service with two ambulances. Our EMS staff includes 14 paramedics, 1 EMT-I, and 12 EMT-B's. Our apparatus includes two engines, tender, heavy rescue, two brush units, a 105' tower ladder, two ambulances, and two sport utility command vehicles. We have 43 outstanding employees. Besides fire and EMS, we specialize in heavy rescue and cold water/ice rescue.

Since the founding of the Norwalk Police Department in 1856, the officers and employees of the agency have served the community with distinction. The current departmental staff is proud of the long history of service to the community and pledge to continue this high level of service. Officers of the department strive to serve the community in a manner that is reflective of the desires and needs of all residents of Norwalk.

Norwalk Public Safety Building
1100 Chatham Avenue
Norwalk, IA 50211