
Minimum Qualifications Necessary To Become A Norwalk Police Officer 
 
 

• Be a United States Citizen and a resident of Iowa or become a resident of 
Iowa 

• Be 18 years of age at appointment 
• Hold a valid driver’s license 
• Not addicted to alcohol or drugs 
• Be of good moral character 
• Pass the Police Physical Fitness Test 
• Not opposed to the use of force (including deadly force) 
• Be a high school graduate or hold a GED certificate 
• Uncorrected vision to 20/100, corrected to 20/20 and see colors 
• Normal hearing in each year 
• Complete a medical evaluation 
• Complete a Psychological Examination 
• Complete a Cognitive Skills Examination 
• Complete a Polygraph Examination 
• Complete a successful back ground examination 
• Complete a successful oral board examination 
• No convictions under the Uniform Code of Military Justice 
• No outstanding arrest warrants 
• No OWI convictions or suspension in the last 12 years  
• No convictions beyond a simple misdemeanor 
• No convictions for domestic violence 
• No previous employment records that reflect poor job performance or 

poorly on moral turpitude 
• Reside within 30 minutes of the Police Station within 12 months of 

appointment 
• Successfully complete the Field Training Orientation program and 12 

months of probation 
• Possess an Iowa Law Enforcement Certification within 12 months of 

appointment 
• Enter into an agreement to repay the City for training expenses to acquire 

an Iowa Law Enforcement certification in the event that the terms of 
employment are not met 

 
 
 
 
 
 


